Log ClassPivotal GemFire .NET Client Documentation
Defines methods available to clients that want to write a log message to their GemFire system's shared log file.
Inheritance Hierarchy

System Object
  GemStone.GemFire.Cache.Generic Log

Namespace: GemStone.GemFire.Cache.Generic
Assembly: GemStone.GemFire.Cache (in GemStone.GemFire.Cache.dll) Version:

public static class Log

Any attempt to use an instance after its connection is disconnected will throw a NotConnectedException.

For any logged message the log file will contain:

  • The message's log level.
  • The time the message was logged.
  • The ID of the connection and thread that logged the message.
  • The message itself, perhaps with an exception including the exception's stack trace.

A message always has a level. Logging levels are ordered. Enabling logging at a given level also enables logging at higher levels. The higher the level the more important and urgent the message.

The levels, in descending order of severity, are:

  • Error (highest severity) is a message level indicating a serious failure. In general error messages should describe events that are of considerable importance and which will prevent normal program execution. They should be reasonably intelligible to end users and to system administrators.
  • Warning is a message level indicating a potential problem. In general warning messages should describe events that will be of interest to end users or system managers, or which indicate potential problems.
  • Info is a message level for informational messages. Typically info messages should be reasonably significant and should make sense to end users and system administrators.
  • Config is a message level for static configuration messages. config messages are intended to provide a variety of static configuration information, to assist in debugging problems that may be associated with particular configurations.
  • Fine is a message level providing tracing information. In general the fine level should be used for information that will be broadly interesting to developers. This level is for the lowest volume, and most important, tracing messages.
  • Finer indicates a moderately detailed tracing message. This is an intermediate level between fine and finest.
  • Finest indicates a very detailed tracing message. Logging calls for entering, returning, or throwing an exception are traced at the finest level.
  • Debug (lowest severity) indicates a highly detailed tracing message. In general the debug level should be used for the most voluminous detailed tracing messages.

See Also